I would die if I stop playing music – Ebenezer Obey

​I’d die quickly if I retire from music –Ebenezer Obey

Chief Ebenezer Obey

If anybody is expecting veteran artiste , Ebenezer Obey, to retire from music , that may not happen as the legend has said such action could lead to his death .

He said , “ I must tell you something . If I retire from music , I would die quickly . That is what I feel . I have been diabetic since I was 30 years old . It took the power and ministry of God to keep me alive . It has affected my eyes but I am not blind . As it is, I would say it is the miracle of God . Playing music is a tonic for me. At 75 , all I want is whatever pleases God . ”

Some people his age may still have gone ahead to remarry moreso as he lost his wife some years ago . But the singer turned evangelist told Saturday Beats that he still misses his wife and doubts if he would ever re- marry.

“ I met my wife when I was a struggling musician and her parents told her not to marry me. They warned her not to marry a musician but she told them that she was going to marry me . I met her in her elder brother’ s place because he was my friend . When I met her , we greeted and that was how we started .

“ When you are a musician and the ladies tell you that you are handsome, you are in trouble . They used to tell me that when I was much younger . That was a big problem . We thank God I was able to overcome that . Women are part of music and I had my own fair share of that but God helped me to put it under control because He knew He was taking me somewhere . I want my life to be read . I am not hiding anything . Then , I did not drink neither did I smoke because my mother had warned me against that and it was believed that every musician engaged in such but I had my fair share of women , ” he said .

And talking about his 75 th birthday coming up in April, Obey said that as part of his birthday celebration, he is going to give back to his community, Idogo , Ogun State that made him who he is today .

“ I would kickstart my 75 th birthday celebration at Idogo , where I built a police post to give back to the society that made me who I am today . It would be inaugurate. Also , the Idogo Area Progressive Union where I am a pioneer member is making the king and me the chief patrons of the club due to my contribution to the community. On April 3 , at Abeokuta , there will be a church service in the morning at the Olusegun Obasanjo Event Centre . The former president actually paid for the hall . On that day , I also intend to launch the Ebenezer Obey Music Foundation. The aim of the foundation is to train youngsters in music and it would be affiliated to the Olabisi Onabanjo University . I also want to have endowments in different universities so that I can give scholarships to students . Also my friends are planning something in Lagos before the year runs out , ” he said .
Source: The Punch

Leave a Reply

