Intending bridegroom who drank insecticide when MMM crashed dies

MMM victim, who drank insecticide, dies in Abuja

Adelani Adepegba , Abuja

A ponzi investor identified as Ada Kole has died in Kubwa , a satellite town in the Federal Capital Territory after drinking insecticide following the crash of the MMM scheme.

The young man , whose wedding was rescheduled from December last year to May , 2017 reportedly died on Monday night following complications arising from the poison he took late last year .

Kole had reportedly invested about N750 , 000 in the scheme in November last year and was expecting to get his 30 per cent income when the MMM crashed and he lost his money .

A family source said Kole passed away after suffering from stomach complications as a result of the poison.

The source said , “ Kole died yesterday ( Monday ) evening and his body has been deposited in a mortuary . He died from the complications he suffered from the poison he took last year . He had a terrible stomach ache and was rushed to the hospital where he died . ”

Asked if the Benue State indigene was paid by the MMM before his demise , the source said , “ No , he was not paid . In fact , he threatened to arrest his guider before the stomach upset returned last week and we rushed him to the hospital where he finally died , ” he added .

It was gathered that his fiancée had been inconsolable since his passage .

Kole had earlier opened up on his predicament during a phone- in radio programme in Abuja last December where he admitted making profits from the scheme before it crashed .

He explained that he initially invested N20 , 000 and got 30 per cent interest few weeks later .

He said , “ I came to Abuja from Benue few months back in preparation for my wedding and my friend introduced me to the MMM thing . He told me about the benefit involved , though I was a bit hesitant about it but he succeeded in convincing me to register under him .

“ To be honest , I initially invested N20 , 000 into the scheme and I got 30 per cent the following month . The following month , I did N 50 , 000 and I still got 30 per cent commission and my full investment back . ”

Kole stated that he decided to increase his investment so he could make more money , but he apparently miscalculated .

He said . “This time , I believed it was real and I decided to increase my investment . Before then , my fiancée had warned me against it. So I went to my cooperative to obtain a loan and they gladly gave , thinking it was for my wedding .

“ I put in N750 k last month ( November , 2016 ) hoping it would yield 30 per cent income this month ( December ) only to wake up one morning to discover that my account has been suspended. ”

The deceased had told his interviewer that he took the insecticide because he did not know how to tell his fiancée that he had lost the money for their wedding .

He added , “ To be sincere , the best option I had then was to take my life , because I didn ’ t know how I was going to face my woman. I didn ’ t even know when I took the insecticide . ”

The FCT police spokesman , Anjuguri Manzah said Kole ’ s death had yet to be reported to the police .

Source: The Punch

Leave a Reply

